Notes from the Road II

For the past 2 days I’ve been in the beautiful French city of Toulousse! There’s a wonderful jazz festival running here that’s been around for over 20 years I believe. We perform tomorrow night at a venue called Club New York at 10pm.

Tonight I got to hear Wayne Shorter’s wonderful quartet! The experience of the show was other-worldly!! That group really knows how to take you places in your mind if you are open to that kind of thing. Their collective cohesion was so strong to me tonight that at the end I realized that no one in the group stepped out of the song to play a full-fledged solo. They were all improvising in the truest form, on the same page, comping for each other. It was indeed a powerful performance and I feel so lucky to be alive in a time where I can be in a place to experience such greatness. Danilo’s sensitive directional counterpoint, Pattitucci’s solid bass playing, and Blade’s volcanic drumming laid the foundation for Wayne to soar to the waning moon!!

J.P.

One Response to “Notes from the Road II”

  1. I was fortunate enough to hear Wayne Shorter’s quartet a few years ago on the Mall in DC. It was one of the most amazing musical experiences of my life. Everything you described was on point. I remember floating for days after hearing them. I wish I had recorded it.

Leave a Reply

