Lately….

One of the many things that I’ve been cooking up recently is a project of the music of Janelle Monae’s Archandroid album. I absolutely love this album. It’s been in my rotation since it was released and I couldn’t wait for it to come out. The music, INHO, is thoughtful, woderfully written, and Janelle’s voice is crystal clear and one of the easier voices to transcribe. When it came out I was wondering how and if I could score this music for my band. Over the past week I’ve been waking up with musical ideas that I think will do that album justice as well as settle in quite comfortably in a “jazz” setting. So far I am treating Say You’ll Go, BaBopBye Ya, Oh Maker, 57821, Sir Greendown, Locked Inside, and Wondaland to my arranging techniques. My plan is to complete the arrangements over the next 2 weeks when I’m out on tour in Europe, come back and work them with the band in November, and perhaps perform them on December 9th in NY with my band at the Jazz Gallery!! I love the Jazz Gallery. They have the best programming in the WORLD for jazz musicians and they’re the only club in NY that’ll give my band a chance, and for that, I’m GRATEFUL!!

2 Responses to “Lately….”

  1. Wow, very very curious to hear the results- and also glad to hear our tastes coincide. Janelle is freaking amazing.

    • Yes, I’m getting a lot done on them so hopefully I’ll have them ready to be played in a couple of weeks. I’ll keep you posted.

      Take care,

      J.P.

Leave a Reply

